Home Reading in Grade 2

We are beginning our home reading program today. I am sure that this is very similar to what your child did in grade 1.

There is an orange duo-tang that will be where we keep our reading log. This will go back and forth to school each day with your child and they will be given opportunity each morning to change their book. I will not do it for them- we are building responsible readers. I will not check the orange duo-tang each day, only on Fridays.

Please take the time to read the pink note I sent home today (in the planners) as well as the info I have included in the duotang. I am going off the level given to me by the grade 1 teacher. When I listen to the children read (near the end of the month) I may change or adjust their level. Right now I am busy testing sight words and then will move onto Reading Benchmarks.

Please contact me with any questions or concerns you may have about our Home Reading Program. Remember, the only way to get better at reading is to READ!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *